‘Life In Perspective’

Interviewing founders

This week the StartWise Team had the amazing opportunity to talk to Stephanie Cox, CEO, and Founder of The Level Market, the world’s first online marketplace for relief and development products.

Grace met Stephanie while talking at the ‘Profit for Good’ panel at the Colorado WILD Summit. We first started talking about The Level Market, but the conversation quickly drifted towards her amazing life story.

Some of our favorite quotes from Stephanie:

“Got to have some grit.”

“Life into perspective.”

“Be a little different.”

The interview can be found below:

Why did you start The Level Market?
Stephanie – I could not find the right product, at the right time and at the right price. It is about human lives but the procurement time was extremely slow, it can take between 30 days and up to 1 year. A lot of the humanitarian products are still in a paper catalogue and online catalogue but with no ability to purchase.

What are some of the important values inside The Level Market?
Stephanie – 1) We value great determination – ‘You’ve got to have some grit’ 2) Listen intently to both the buyers and sellers 3) Contrarian views – ‘Be a little different’

Suyra?
Stephanie – My daughter’s name is Surya, which means “sunshine” in Nepali and she is 8 years old. I spent three years building social enterprises during the civil war in Nepal with an international non-profit. When I found out I was pregnant, I knew I’d name her that. She’s a trusted advisor for my company and the bright light in my life.

Stephanie has a big heart, is full of compassion and positivity. So we had to ask her: What kind of vitamins do you take?
Stephanie – I don’t even take caffeine except green tea. But I think when you have survived three times life threatening events it definitely puts your life in perspective.

